Senate and House Leaders to Address Business Tax Group

Senate and House Leaders to Address Business Tax Group

Bookmark and Share

For Immediate Release

Iowa Taxpayers Association (ITA)
Contact: Tom Sands, President & CEO, Iowa Taxpayers Association
Office: (515) 243-0300

Senate and House Leaders to Address Business Tax Group

DES MOINES, IA — (November 20, 2018) The Iowa Taxpayers Association will hold its 83rd Annual Meeting & Tax Symposium on Thursday, November 29, 2018, and Friday, November 30, 2018, at The Meadows Event & Conference Center in Altoona, Iowa.

On Thursday, November 29, at 9:15 a.m., Debi Durham, director of the Iowa Department of Economic Development, will discuss Iowa's economic development strategy, including focus areas for growth, policy initiatives, programs and industry information.

After lunch on Thursday, at 12:15 p.m., Mike Naig, Iowa Secretary of Agriculture, will discuss the condition of the agriculture economy in Iowa. Following this presentation, ITA will award the Weindruch Award and Scholarship in honor of Linda S. Weindruch. Stacey Johnson, John Deere Financial Worldwide, will receive the award. Andrew Karas, Drake University law student, will receive the scholarship.

At 1:15 p.m. on Thursday, Director Courtney Kay-Decker and Deputy Director Adam Humes will provide attendees with a discussion surrounding implementation of tax reform as well as other items of interest.

At 10:45 a.m. on Friday, November 30, Tom Sands, president/CEO of the Iowa Taxpayers Association will moderate a legislative panel including Senate Majority Leader Jack Whitver, Senator Pam Jochum and Representative Dave Jacoby. Additional legislators may also be present. They will provide insight on business tax issues facing the Legislature in the coming year.

You can see the full list of distinguished guests and presenters by visiting the Iowa Taxpayers Association at

If you plan to attend as a representative of the media or would like more information, please contact ITA President/CEO Tom Sands at (515) 243-0300.


The Iowa Taxpayers Association (ITA) is a business-sponsored tax policy organization founded in 1935. The ITA mission is to educate and inform Iowans about sound fiscal policy; provide state policymakers with objective, nonpartisan research about the impact of specific tax and spending policies; and advocate for the adoption of rational public fiscal policy as it relates to business and corporate taxes. 

© 2020 Iowa Taxpayers Association. All Rights Reserved.