Senate and House Leaders to Address Iowa Taxpayers Association

Senate and House Leaders to Address Iowa Taxpayers Association

Bookmark and Share

Iowa Taxpayers Association (ITA)
Tom Sands, president/CEO, Iowa Taxpayers Association
Office: 515-243-0300


Senate and House Leaders to Address Business Tax Group

DES MOINES, IA — (November 29, 2017) The Iowa Taxpayers Association will hold its 82nd Annual Meeting & Tax Symposium on Thursday, December 7, 2017, and Friday, December 8, 2017, at The Meadows Event & Conference Center in Altoona, Iowa.

On Thursday, December 7, at 9:45 a.m., Debi Durham, director of the Iowa Department of Economic Development, will discuss Iowa's economic development strategy, including focus areas for growth, policy initiatives, programs and industry information.

At 12:00 p.m. on Thursday, Adam Gregg, Lieutenant Governor of the State of Iowa, will discuss the tax agenda for 2018 and the Iowa economy, as well as share about his experience as Lt. Governor.

During lunch on Thursday, ITA will award the Weindruch Award and Scholarship in honor of Linda S. Weindruch. Jim McNulty will receive the award. Dillon Malone will receive the scholarship.

On Friday, December 8, at 8:00 a.m., Courtney Kay-Decker, director of the Iowa Department of Revenue, and Adam Humes, Deputy Director, will provide attendees with a summary of significant case law and a general update on policy, projects and plans.

At 10:30 a.m. on Friday, Tom Sands, president/CEO of the Iowa Taxpayers Association will moderate a legislative panel including Senate President Jack Whitver, House Majority Leader Chris Hagenow, Senator Pam Jochum, Representative Guy Vander Linden and Representative Dave Jacoby. They will provide insight on business tax issues facing the Legislature in the coming year.

At 12:45 p.m. on Friday, US Senator Joni Ernst will provide an update on federal issues, including tax reform. There is a possibility that Senator Ernst will be working in Washington D.C. that Friday, in that case she will host a video conference with attendees to present an update on federal issues, including tax reform.

You can see the full list of distinguished guests and presenters by visiting the Iowa Taxpayers Association at

If you plan to attend as a representative of the media or would like more information, please contact ITA President/CEO Tom Sands at 515-243-0300.


The Iowa Taxpayers Association is a business-sponsored tax policy organization founded in 1935. The ITA mission is to educate and inform Iowans about sound fiscal policy; provide state policymakers with objective, nonpartisan research about the impact of specific tax and spending policies; and advocate for the adoption of rational public fiscal policy as it relates to business and corporate taxes.

© 2018 Iowa Taxpayers Association. All Rights Reserved.